Maryland HQL &
Maryland Wear and Carry Course
Maryland Handgun Qualification Licenses (HQL) - is a 4 hour course of instruction which includes classroom instruction on state firearm law, home firearm safety, handgun mechanisms and operations, and a component that requires the student to demonstrate the ability to safely fire a handgun.
A person may not purchase, rent, or receive a handgun after October 1, 2013 unless they posses a valid HQL issued by the Maryland State Police.
Maryland Wear and Carry Permit- is 16 hours of instruction for an original application and 8 hours for a renewal application. This course covers Pistol Knowledge, Safe Gun Handling, State Firearm Law, Legal & Civil Aspects of Concealed Carry, Maryland Wear & Carry Application Process, Home Firearm Safety, Handgun Mechanisms and Operation, and a Qualification Test to demonstrate Gun Safety and Proficiency with a minimum score of 70% accuracy (100 rounds).
On July 5, 2022, Governor Hogan Directed the Maryland State Police to Suspend the ‘Good and Substantial Reason’ Standard For Wear and Carry Permits.
Action Pursuant to Supreme Court Ruling Striking Down Similar Provision in New York Law
Governor Larry Hogan issued the following statement:
“Over the course of my administration, I have consistently supported the right of law-abiding citizens to own and carry firearms, while enacting responsible and common sense measures to keep guns out of the hands of criminals and the mentally ill.
"Last month, the U.S. Supreme Court struck down a provision in New York law pertaining to handgun permitting that is virtually indistinguishable from Maryland law. In light of the ruling and to ensure compliance with the Constitution, I am directing the Maryland State Police to immediately suspend utilization of the ‘good and substantial reason’ standard when reviewing applications for Wear and Carry Permits. It would be unconstitutional to continue enforcing this provision in state law. There is no impact on other permitting requirements and protocols.
"Today’s action is in line with actions taken by other states in response to the recent ruling.”
The Maryland State Police Licensing Division is in the process of updating the Licensing Portal to reflect these changes. Until these updates are complete, applicants submitting a Wear and Carry Permit application are directed to select “Personal Protection / Category Not Listed Above” as their “Handgun Permit Category. Applicants are not required to attach documents to the “PERSONAL PROTECTION DOCUMENTATION” section on the “Upload Documents” page of the Wear and Carry Permit application.
The suspension of the “Good and Substantial Reason” requirement does not change any other aspect of the MD Wear and Carry Permit. Applicants are still required to submit documentation of the required training and a Livescan fingerprint receipt. Additional documentation such as military service records or other documentation as requested may still be required to complete an applicant background investigation.
A WEAR AND CARRY (HANDGUN) PERMIT IS STILL REQUIRED BEFORE YOU CAN LEGALLY CARRY A REGULATED FIREARM ON YOUR PERSON.
Delaware /Multi- State Conceal Carry Course
Upon successfully completion of this course students will receive an official signed and notarized Training Certification.
Non Residents of Delaware can take this course, and use this certification for the Florida Non-Resident Concealed Carry Permit Application ( Delaware + 33 Additional States with Restrictions.)
Topics discussed and taught: Pistol Knowledge, Safe Gun Handling, Ammunition Knowledge & Fundamentals, Home firearm Safety, Shooting fundamentals, Conceal Carry Mindset, Situational Awareness, Surviving Violent Encounters, Introduction to Delaware Title 11 Law, Legal & Civil Aspects of Conceal Carry, Delaware CCDW Application Process, and live fire (100 rounds).
Maryland Security Guard Renewal
Maryland Security Guard Renewal - is 8 hours of instruction for a renewal application. This course covers Pistol Knowledge, Safe Gun Handling, State Firearm Law, Legal & Civil Aspects of Concealed Carry, Maryland Wear & Carry Application Process, Home Firearm Safety, Handgun Mechanisms and Operation, and a Qualification Test to demonstrate Gun Safety and Proficiency with a minimum score of 70% accuracy (100 rounds).
NATIONAL RIFLE ASSOCIATION COURSES
NRA Basics of Pistol Shooting course- is a great way for you to learn the basics of pistol shooting from the top firearms training organization in the world! The course may be used for you to obtain the certification for your concealed carry permit in some states. Be sure to contact your county, city, or state to find out whether this course fulfills the requirement. This course is 8 hours long and includes both classroom and range time. The NRA Basics of Pistol Shooting is intended for all individuals regardless of previous shooting experience or NRA-affiliation. This is the instructor-led course where you will receive direct instruction from an NRA-certified instructor from beginning to end.
NRA CCW Course- Basic Instructor Training, discipline specific instructor training and the Live-Fire Range instructor training. Instructor Candidates demonstrate organizational and teaching skills via participation in practical exercises during the course, and must pass a written instructor certification examination. Additionally, the Instructor Candidates must pass the CCW Instructor Level shooting qualification Course of Fire. The NRA CCW Instructor Course will focus on developing the knowledge, skills, and attitude necessary for Instructor Candidates to teach carrying and using a concealed pistol ethically, responsibly, and with confidence. As a result of participating in this course, the Instructor Candidate will be able to explain and demonstrate the following: How to apply the NRA Rules for Safe Gun Handling when carrying a concealed firearm, basic principles of concealment, the difference between cover and concealment, drawing from the holster, levels of mental awareness, developing the proper mindset when using a pistol for personal defense, clearing common stoppages, and more.
Take Your Training to the Next Level
Duty to Inform
If state or local law imposes a duty to inform, you are required to disclose the presence of your firearm upon making contact with law enforcement. There are 12 states, along with the District of Columbia, that require you to inform immediately upon contact with law enforcement. There are also an additional 12 states with laws that stipulate you must notify only when asked by law enforcement. Some states have no duty to inform laws at all.
Although California has no duty to inform law at the state level, there are localities that have duty to inform requirements.
Maine and North Dakota are hybrids. You have a duty to inform if carrying without a permit in these states, but not if you are carrying concealed with a permit.
You should also be prepared to produce your concealed carry permit to verify you are carrying legally — except in constitutional carry states.
It is your responsibility to know the duty to inform requirements of the locality in which you reside as well as those through which you travel.